For full access for members, please log in - [ Member Login ]

Award Winners at the 12th World Congress on the Menopause

Madrid, Spain, May 19–23, 2008

Dr Ana Maria Massad-Costa receives her award from Professor Amos Pines   Dr Gordian Adam is congratulated by Professor Hermann Schneider   Dr Paolo Mannella is awarded his prize by Professor Thomas Clarkson   Dr Manson, who received the IMS/Wyeth Pharmaceuticals Henry Burger Prize

The Robert B. Greenblatt Prizes

Robert B. Greenblatt, co-founder and first President of the International Menopause Society, originally conceived the idea of awarding prizes at all International Menopause Congresses to the two junior investigators who presented the best papers in the field of menopause, from both basic science and clinical points of view. At the 12th World Congress on the Menopause, The Robert B. Greenblatt Prize for Basic Science was awarded to Dr Ana Maria Massad-Costa, from the Federal University of Sao Paulo, Brazil, for her paper entitled ‘Is there relationship between CYP17 polymorphism and vasomotor symptoms in postmenopausal women?’. Professor Amos Pines, IMS President, congratulated Dr Massad-Costa and awarded her with the Prize and certificate at the Closing Ceremony.

The winner of the Robert B. Greenblatt Prize for Clinical Science was announced as Dr Cassandra Szoeke of The Royal Melbourne Hospital, Victoria, Australia, for her paper ‘The significance of aches and joint pain reports across the menopausal transition – a longitudinal study’. Unfortunately, in the last week before the Congress, Dr Szoeke was prevented from coming to the Congress for personal reasons. She sent a video presentation of her paper and Professor Lorraine Dennerstein accepted the Prize from Professor Pines on her behalf.

The IMS/Bayer Schering Pharma Prizes

The IMS/Bayer Schering Pharma Hermann Schneider Prize for the best communication on Menopause and Breast Health and the IMS/Bayer Schering Pharma Thomas Clarkson Prize for the best communication on Menopause and Cardiovascular Health are named to mark the great contributions made by Professor Hermann Schneider and Professor Thomas Clarkson to the fields of menopause and breast health and menopause and cardiovascular health, respectively. They were awarded for the first time during the 12th World Congress to the two junior investigators who were judged to have presented the best communications in the respective fields.

The first IMS/Bayer Schering Hermann Schneider prize for the best communication on menopause and breast health was awarded to Dr Gordian Adam of the University of Tübingen, Germany, for his paper: ‘Membrane-initiated effects of progesterone on proliferation and activation of VEGF gene expression in human breast cancer cells’. Professor Hermann Schneider congratulated Dr Adam as he presented him with his cheque and certificate.

The first IMS/Bayer Schering Thomas Clarkson prize for the best communication on menopause and cardiovascular health was presented by Professor Thomas Clarkson to Dr Paolo Mannella from the University of Pisa, Italy. Dr Mannella’s award-winning paper was on ‘Dydrogesterone and 20α-dihydrodydrogesterone activity on nitric oxide synthesis in human endothelial cells’.

Both Dr Adam and Dr Mannella gave brief but fascinating presentations of their work at the award ceremony.

The IMS/Wyeth Pharmaceuticals Henry Burger Prize

The IMS/Wyeth Pharmaceuticals Henry Burger Prize is awarded to the investigator who is judged as having published the most significant contribution(s) to the field of menopause in basic science or clinical studies in the 2-year period immediately following the preceding World Congress.
The Prize was named to mark the great contribution that Professor Henry Burger has made to the field of menopause. The inaugural Henry Burger Prize was awarded to Professor JoAnn E. Manson from Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School, USA, for her published literature regarding menopausal hormone therapy and the cardiovascular system during the past 2 years. Dr Manson is a noted endocrinologist and epidemiologist specializing in women's health and cardiovascular disease in women. In his proposal of Dr Manson for the Prize, Professor Frederick Naftolin said she is one of the Principal Investigators of the NIH's Women's Health Initiative (WHI) trial and has played a key role in analyses of the data from this trial and its dissemination to clinicians, researchers, and the public. Dr. Manson has spearheaded research that has clarified the benefit:risk ratio of menopausal hormone therapy (HT) and the important role of a woman's age and time since menopause at HT initiation (the "timing hypothesis"). She has contributed enormously to elucidating the basis for the discrepancies between WHI and earlier observational studies such as the Nurses' Health Study. She is also one of the Principal Investigators for the Kronos Early Estrogen Prevention Study (KEEPS), which will further address the relationship between estrogen initiated early in menopause and cardiovascular disease. Professor Naftolin reported that Dr Manson's pioneering work has shed light and clarity on the subject of estrogen therapy and cardiovascular disease and she has made scientific contributions that are in the highest tradition of Medicine.

[home] - [site map] - [contact us]
International Menopause Society, Ms Lee Tomkins, IMS Executive Director, PO Box 98, Camborne, Cornwall TR14 4BQ, UK
Tel: +44 1409 221307, E-mail: